Forest of Reading Awards 2023

Forest of Reading is Canada’s largest recreational reading program! 100 books are nominated in different age categories, fiction and non-fiction. These books are selected by book experts to help foster a love of reading in various age groups – so you know you’re getting some great books when you choose from the nominees! Learn more about Forest of Reading here!

Drop into the library and check out our Forest of Reading Book Display on the Lower Level, and browse the booklists below to place holds on the books.

Blue Spruce Award Nominees

The Blue Spruce Award™ program brings recently published Canadian children’s picture books to children between the ages of 4 and 7 (Junior Kindergarten to Grade 2). For many children, this is their first introduction to the world of books. This program promotes reading for enjoyment and begins to develop a child’s skill in evaluating a picture book based on story, text and pictures.

Silver Birch Express Award

The Silver Birch Express Award is unique in providing a mix of fiction and non-fiction titles for readers at different reading levels. Especially for those young people in Grades 3 to 4, or the reluctant reader. This program is sure to get them excited about reading!

Silver Birch Award

The Silver Birch Fiction Award is meant for readers aged 8 to 12, (Grades 3-6). One of the Forest of Reading’s most popular award programs, this is the one that started it all! Geared towards those in Grades 5 and 6, from fantastical, fun titles to serious, life-learning tales, this program provides a variety of stories for readers to enjoy. 

Yellow Cedar Award

The Yellow Cedar Award program is the only Forest of Reading list that is composed of non-fiction books geared to readers from Grades 5-8. Readers will learn about real-life stories and facts – these books are definitely conversation starters!

Red Maple Award

The Red Maple Award reading program is for students ages 12 to 13, in Grades 7 and 8. This program aims to get readers engaging in conversation around the books and encourages them to use critical thinking while reading.

The White Pine Award

The White Pine Award category offers teens of all ages the opportunity to read the best of Canada’s recent young adult fiction titles. This program promotes reading for enjoyment and familiarizes teenagers with great Canadian books.